"Our Game Is Our Game, Mr. Bond"

6 replies to this topic

#1 Guy Haines

Guy Haines

Commander

• Veterans
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3075 posts
  • Location:"Special envoy" no more. As of 7/5/15 elected to office somewhere in Nottinghamshire, England.

Posted 18 November 2015 - 12:56 PM

I've never done one of these reviews before but here goes. And be aware it does contain some spoilers, so if you haven't seen the film yet.....you have been warned!

SPECTRE started out with a drawback unique in the Bond series, I think, in that thanks to the imaginatively named "Guardians of Peace" (or "GOP") much about it was in the public domain if one bothered to look as early as late last year. Did this spoil it for me? Not really, because I took the leaks with a pinch of salt. I expected re-writes and they happened.

As for the finished product - for the most part very good indeed in my view. A curious mix of classic 1960s/70s Bondery and the attempts at depth of character we saw in Skyfall. Not a perfect mix - some of it seemed a bit bolted on and out of synch with previous Craig Bond movies, particularly during the Rome car chase when there were a couple of very brief humour lapses. But for the most part the long time fan such as yours truly and the casual viewer could find much to enjoy.

Mr Bond undeniably a bit lighter in touch this time, but you still can't mistake Daniel Craig's blunt instrument of a Bond for Roger Moore's debonair gentleman. At times the attempts to make Craig's Bond into late Connery/early Moore seemed a bit forced but in the end this is still unmistakably Craig's unique take on 007, not a 90 or 180 degree turn in another direction. And I noticed that, like Monty Python's East End villains "The Piranha Brothers" - see first series of Python for them! - Bond uses.....sarcasm. And to M, of all people. Quote; "You're right sir. You do have a tricky day ahead." One of my favourite lines in the film!