Do you recommend reading on?

31 replies to this topic

#1 db007

db007

Cadet

• Crew
  • 17 posts

Posted 13 July 2009 - 05:57 PM

Hi all. New member here. I just started reading the Ian Fleming novels; I'm just staring Moonraker. I've looked up the novels by Amis, Gardner, Benson, and now Faulks, and am wondering whether to continue once I finish with Fleming. I'm a writer myself and the negative reviews I've seen of the later works make me question whether they are worth the read. Thanks!

#2 Mister Asterix

Mister Asterix

Commodore RNVR

• The Admiralty
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 15519 posts

Posted 13 July 2009 - 06:02 PM

No reason not to at least give them a shot. Opinions of them widely vary, of course, but you can’t really know if you like an author’s take on Bond until you give it a take. And add Higson’s books to your list; many believe the Young Bond are the finest of the non-Fleming Bonds.

#3 db007

db007

Cadet

• Crew
  • 17 posts

Posted 13 July 2009 - 06:03 PM

Thanks. Will do!

#4 OmarB

OmarB

Lt. Commander

• Veterans
  • PipPipPip
  • 1151 posts

Posted 13 July 2009 - 06:06 PM

Only you can know your own mind and your own opinion. In my opinion some of the Gardner novels as well as Amis' stood on equal footing with the best of Fleming. Some of the books read like pastiche too though, depends on what you like, personally I think Gardner's take was my favorite.

#5 Trident

Trident

Commander

• Veterans
  • PipPipPip
  • 2658 posts

Posted 13 July 2009 - 06:08 PM