14 replies to this topic

#1 dsomerset

dsomerset

Lieutenant

• Crew
  • 24 posts

Posted 13 October 2007 - 05:48 AM

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to this site, and I'm very happy and excited to be contributing to CBn's very rich fan-fiction section. I haven't written a fan-fic story for a while. However, the news about the upcoming centenary Bond novel by Sebastian Faulks triggered in me a desire to read some of the Fleming books that I haven't read for a while again, so that I can compare the Master's works to that of the latest continuation author, when the latter will come out next year. The first Fleming book I happened to pick up was the For Your Eyes Only collection of short stories, and revisiting them was a real joy. In fact, I was so inspired by one of these gems that I decided to write a short story of my own as a kind of homage to the original work by the Master. I hope you will have as much fun reading my story as I'm having writing it.

Please feel free to post in this thread any comment and/or criticism you may have regarding what I've written and posted in the Fan-Fiction Postings area. It is only through receiving these feedbacks that a writer may hope to grow and improve (plus it's always nice to know that people do read what one has worked hard to produce :D ). Thanks!

#2 clinkeroo

clinkeroo

Commander

• Crew
  • PipPip
  • 818 posts

Posted 13 October 2007 - 05:56 AM

Hmmm...

Guy named Somerset writing a story being told within a story...hmmm.

Strong change of pace and tone from your frame piece into the story; won't really know what to make of that until there's more to it. Not quite Maugham, not quite Fleming's Bond, but your are making it your own, and you write exceedingly well. Looking forward to reading more.

Very mature, and very high quality so far.

#3 dsomerset

dsomerset

Lieutenant

• Crew
  • 24 posts

Posted 13 October 2007 - 06:15 AM

Thank you, Clinkeroo.