20 replies to this topic

#1 Loomis

Loomis

Commander CMG

• Veterans
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 21862 posts

Posted 25 March 2010 - 01:54 PM

Cite - if you wouldn't mind - the most visually impressive Blu-rays you have seen. (I don't really care about sound. Much more interested in picture quality.)

Image-wise, plenty of Blu-ray titles are good (although, sadly, plenty aren't), but let's focus here on the cream of the crop. Those discs that really made you sit up and go: "Wow, now this is what high definition's all about!"

I'm not a techie, but I know when I'm so impressed I'm knocked sideways, and I'm sure you do too. Hopefully, this thread will end up sorting out a list of titles that are "musts" for the Blu-ray enthusiast.

My picks:

THE GREATEST EVER

BARAKA. From Wikipedia: Following previous DVD releases, in 2007 the original 65 mm negative was re-scanned at 8K (a horizontal resolution of 8192 pixels) with equipment designed specifically for Baraka at FotoKem Laboratories. The automated 8K film scanner, operating continuously, took more than three weeks to finish scanning more than 150000 frames (taking approximately 12–13 seconds to scan each frame), producing over 30 terabytes of image data in total. After a 16-month digital intermediate process, including a 96 kHz/24 bit audio remaster by Stearns for the DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack, the superior result was finally re-released on DVD and Blu-ray Disc in October, 2008. Project supervisor Andrew Oran says this remastered Baraka is "arguably the highest quality DVD that's ever been made". Chicago Sun-Times critic Roger Ebert describes the Blu-ray release as "the finest video disc I have ever viewed or ever imagined."

On a decent HDTV, the BARAKA Blu-ray will cause your eyeballs to explode. It truly is that stunning. Excellent film, too.

THE BEST OF THE BEST