Matt Monroe - FRWL Recording blooper!

9 replies to this topic

#1 kronik

kronik

Recruit

• Crew
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 January 2013 - 11:41 AM

Hi all, first post so the usual caveats apply  :)

I've known about the following for about 25 years, and wondered if anybody else knew or realised that the stereo recording of Matt Monroe's From Russia With Love contains a bit of an audio blooper.

Listen VERY carefully to the LEFT hand channel (the right hand channel has the string section) when he sings "but oh, you haunted me so"... during "Oh" you can distinctly hear something unusual going on (I'm a Sound Engineer, so I tend to notice this sort of thing ;) ).

I've loaded that part of the audio into DSP Quattro (audio editor) and lowered the speed to see what the result would be, and sure enough it's someone saying "I wasn't so sure about that, can we start again?"

Could it be the voice of JB?

Anyway Happy New Year to all, glad to be hear and I hope to join in many future discussions.

#2 The Cat

The Cat

Sub-Lieutenant

• Crew
  • Pip
  • 464 posts

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:54 PM

John Barry had nothing to do with the recording of the song From Russia with Love. The people you hear on the recording are the conductor and the recording engineer. The original conversation was actually captured on the separate recording of the piano track that was sped up for the finished mix - hence the chipmunk effect of the dialogue. If you do a search for "chipmunk", you'll find plenty of additional details on this recording anomaly.

#3 stromberg

stromberg

Commander RNVR

• The Admiralty
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6841 posts

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:17 PM

Ah, the good old FRWL chipmunks. We didn't have those for quite a while  :D

#4 Guy Haines

Guy Haines

Commander

• Veterans
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3075 posts
  • Location:"Special envoy" no more. As of 7/5/15 elected to office somewhere in Nottinghamshire, England.

Posted 06 January 2013 - 09:33 AM