This is a read only archive of the old forums
The new CBn forums are located at https://quarterdeck.commanderbond.net/

Photo

Is GoldenEye 64 ever going to get remade?

35 replies to this topic

#1 bryonalston

bryonalston

Lt. Commander

• Veterans
  • PipPipPip
  • 1253 posts

Posted 26 June 2005 - 07:24 AM

Today, there was an article about the creators of Half-Life2 recreating all of the multiplayer levels on GE64 for PC. I was just wondering if the entire game will be remade my EA anytime soon (since I got rid of the game, as well as my N64 long ago)

#2 [dark]

[dark]

Commander RNVR

• Commanding Officers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6239 posts

Posted 26 June 2005 - 08:38 AM

I must say, as a non-gamer, the Half-Life 2 mod looks damn cool.

I, too, would like to see a contemporary update of GoldenEye, but - and I'm no copyright expert - would such a thing be possible? In the truest sense of a remake, it would have to be based on levels from the game, as developed by Rare (a company that no longer exists, I don't think) and produced by Nintendo; however, EA currently own the Bond rights (until, from memory, 2012). Even though the original game was based on GoldenEye, the film, only a handful of pieces of those levels were lifted from that film; most of the game - in terms of its structure - was original.

I'll still pull out my Nintendo and GoldenEye every now and again, even if Perfect Dark ended up more or less surpassing it in every aspect.

#3 Qwerty

Qwerty

Commander RNVR

• Commanding Officers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 85605 posts

Posted 26 June 2005 - 01:38 PM

A related article: http://debrief.comma...topic=23819&hl=

#4 The_Mole

The_Mole

Lieutenant

• Crew
  • PipPip
  • 894 posts

Posted 26 June 2005 - 03:35 PM

I think it's great that fans and modders now have the ability to do this.

GoldenEye Source will be the best Bond game since GoldenEye 64, and will be more supreme over anything EA will come up with in the next 100 years.